Friday, April 25, 2014
Account Login  

  need help?  
Search By Keyword
Breaking News Alerts
Email Alerts
Email Address
Text Alerts
Mobile Number
 )  - 
Mobile Provider
standard messaging rates apply
For May 20 primary election

Last day to register
for primary election
is Monday, April 21

Clinch Countians have until Monday to register for vote for the May 20 primary election.
Local voters will be able to vote May 20 on two local races, a State Senate seat, the governor's race, and a U.S. Senate seat, while one State House race won't be contested after a candidate dropped out.
Crawford Powell, a Lowndes County commissioner, dropped out of the race for State House District 174 after qualifying. That leaves Republican John Corbett of Echols County and Democrat Jessie Smith of Charlton County in the race, which will be decided during the November 4 general election. Corbett and Smith are seeking to replace State Rep. Ellis Black, who is seeking to replace Sen. Tim Golden as District 8's senator. Clinch County is in both House District 174 and Senate District 8.
Recently, state officials launched a new online registration system, as well as mobile apps for Apple and Android users.
The system and apps can be used by both new voters and registered voters who need to update their residency information and find out where to vote.
Locally, there is one contested seat on the Clinch County Board of Education and one on the Clinch County Commission. Christopher Johnson of Homerville qualified to run for the Post 4 BOE seat against incumbent Charlie Mae Cross. In the county commission's Post 1, incumbent Nan Mikell is being challenged by former county commission chairman, Kenton McLaine.
After Golden's retirement, Black qualified to run in the Republican primary, as did Lowndes County Commissioners John Page and Richard Raines.   Democrat Bikram Mohanty also qualified to run for the District 8 Senate seat.
In the May 20 general primary, voters will have to choose a Democratic or Republican ballot. All those who qualified in the local Post 4 school board race and Post 1 county commission race qualified as Democrats.
Statewide, the retirement of Saxby Chambliss has left a U.S. Senate seat open. Democrats who qualified to run for that seat were Dr. Rad Raulovacki, Todd Robinson, Michelle Nunn, and O. Steen Miles. Republicans vying for that post are Jack Kingston, Phil Gingrey, Karen Handel, Paul Broun, Arthur Gardner, David Perdue, and Derrick Grayson.
Kingston's run for the Senate has left his U.S. House seat (1st Congressional District) open. Democrats who qualified for that seat are Amy Tavio and Brian Reese. Republicans looking to replace Kingston are Buddy Carter, Earl Martin, Darwin Carter, Jeff Chapman, Bob Johnson, and John McCallum.
Governor Nathan Deal is seeking re-election. The incumbent is facing opposition from David Pennington and John D. Barge in the Republican primary, and from Democrat Jason Carter in the general election.

Visitor Comments
Current Conditions
Homerville, GA
Radar & More >>
click ad below for details
  • View All Ads